Rail Industry Scholarships

RTP-Michigan Tech Railway Scholarships are open NOW! Get your application - which requires the same written materials as the AREMA forms - in as soon as possible! Contact Dave Nelson with any questions: dannelso@mtu.edu

Scholarship applications for 2020 are due Friday, December 6, 2019! 

Click HERE for the scholarship application

Each year, the Rail Transportation Program is able to offer students a competitive scholarship program, thanks to our industry partner Canadian National, and generous alumni support. These scholarships offer students interested in and progressing towards railway industry careers a financial boost as they work through their studies - with funds applicable to things like books, tuition and housing - here at Michigan Tech. 

Additionally, the American Railway Engineering and Maintenance of Way Association (AREMA) offers a whole slate of scholarships, further adding to the lot of scholarships available to our students.   Follow this link for the AREMA application (it uses the same essays as our application)  https://www.aremafoundation.org/AREMA_DONOR/Programs/Application_Process.aspx


Students may also apply for a number of other awards from throughout the industry. All will be highlighted here as they become available.

Congratulations to our many previous winners! 

2019  Scholarship Winners!

AREMA Scholarships

Kyle Dick


Michigan Tech Alumni Scholarship 

Alex Christmas


Committee 27 – Maintenance-of-Way Work Equipment Scholarship

Internal Scholarships from RTP and Industry

Alex Christmas


CN Railroad Scholarship

Walter Friesel


CN Railroad Scholarship



   Click Here to see all of our Rail Scholarship Winners from the past!

Rail Transportation Program
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI. 49931-1295
Phone: 1-906-487-3547
Fax: 1-906-487-2943
A special thank you to our sponsor and partners!

Michigan Technological University is an Equal Opportunity Educational Institution/Equal Opportunity Employer, which includes providing equal opportunity for protected veterans and individuals with disabilities.